Wednesday, July 23, 2014

NLGJA Announces 2014 Inductees Into LGBT Journalists Hall of Fame

Congrats to all of the inductees into the National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association's LGBT Journalists Hall of Fame -- with a special shout-out to Donna Cartwright, who used to pick up shifts on my desk back in my NYT days. Nicely done, ladies!

 Via news release:

The National Lesbian & Gay Journalists Association (NLGJA) announced today the 2014 inductees into the LGBT Journalists Hall of Fame:

  • Tracy Baim, Windy City Media publisher, editor, author, historian and filmmaker 

  • Lisa Keen, often considered the dean of America’s gay political reporting 

  • Donna Cartwright, veteran copy editor at The New York Times and longtime transgender, LGBT and labor activist 

  • The LGBT Journalists Hall of Fame was established in 2005, recognizing seven journalists for their commitment, courage and dedication to LGBT issues in the media. Since then, NLGJA has inducted a total of 25 journalists. This year, the association honors three more exceptionally talented professionals in Baim, Keen and Cartwright.

     “This year’s selections are deeply rewarding,” said Bob Witeck, Chair of the LGBT Journalists Hall of Fame Task Force. “All three share lifelong habits reporting our stories through solid journalism while inspiring us with their dedication to truth.”

     Meanwhile, the 2014 NLGJA Journalist of the Year award went to Chris Geidner, senior legal and political reporter for BuzzFeed. To see the complete list of winners, click HERE.

    No comments: